Sunday, June 7, 2009

Nigeria- Anglicans Elects Five Bishops

AT the end of its one-week Economic Empowerment Summit in Lokoja, the House of Bishops has elected five new Bishops.

They are Venerable Humphrey E. Olumakaiye, provost of the Cathedral Church of St. Mathew's Ijebu-jesa, who will be the pioneer Bishop of the newly created Osun North East missionary diocese; while Venerable Emmanuel Maduwike of Owerri Anglican Diocese, is the elected Bishop of the newly created Ikeduru Missionary Diocese.

The Venerable Innocent Ordu of the Diocese of Niger Delta North, is the new Bishop of Evo Missionary Diocese while Ven Uriah Kolo of Minna Anglican Diocese has been elected Bishop of Doko Missionary Diocese. The Very Revd Samson Adekunle of the Cathedral Church Ilajo, Yewa Diocese is elected Bishop of the new Ile-oluji Missionary Diocese.

The consecration of the new Bishops-elect shall take place at Yenegoa, Bayelsa State on Sunday, July 5, 2009.

No comments: