Saturday, September 12, 2009

Episcopal Diocese of Georgia to elect new bishop

From Gerorgia-

The Episcopal Diocese of Georgia, which does not include Columbus, will elect a new bishop at a special convention Saturday in Tifton. The current bishop, the Rt. Rev. Henry Louttit, is retiring.
One candidate is from this diocese, the Diocese of Atlanta. He is the Very Rev. Dean Taylor, rector of St. Mark's, Dalton. Taylor also spent about a decade of his childhood in Columbus, and attended St. Thomas.

The other five candidates are:

The Rev Scott A. Benhase, St. Alban’s Episcopal Church, Washington D.C.
The Rev. William Patrick Gahan. St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church, Wimberley, Texas
The Rev. Frank S. Logue, King of Peace Episcopal Church, Kingsland, Ga.
The Rev. Stephen F. Zimmerman, Chapel of St. Andrew, Boca Raton, Fla.
The Rev. William Willoughby III, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Savannah, Ga.

If one of the candidates is not elected in seven ballots, delegates will dismiss and reconvene in two weeks.

The diocese takes in Albany, Augusta and Savannah and all towns south.
See for more information.

No comments: