Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Committee seeks nominees to join in church governance

From ELO-

Nominations for membership on seven bodies or positions to be elected at the Episcopal Church's General Convention in 2012 are now being accepted by the Joint Standing Committee on Nominations.

Bishops, priests, deacons and lay persons may be nominated, according to a press release from the church's Office of Public Affairs. The nominees are not required to be current or former General Convention deputies.

The elections will be held during the 77th meeting of General Convention July 5 - 12, 2012 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Deadline for nominations is February 22, 2011.

The positions up for election are:
Disciplinary Board for Bishops: two lay persons and two priests or deacons elected by the House of Deputies; 10 bishops elected by the House of Bishops; six-year terms.

Executive Council: six lay persons, two priests or deacons, two bishops; six-year terms.
General Board of Examining Chaplains: three lay persons, three faculty members of theological seminaries or other educational institutions, three priests or deacons with pastoral cures or specialized ministries, two bishops; six-year terms. (House of Bishops elects; House of Deputies confirms.)

Secretary of the House of Deputies: one position; three-year term.
Treasurer of the General Convention: one position; three-year term.
Trustee of the Church Pension Fund: twelve positions; six-year terms.
Trustee of General Theological Seminary: two lay persons and two priests or deacons, elected by the House of Deputies; two bishops elected by the House of Bishops; three-year term.
More information about each office and details about service in each office are available here.


No comments: